Your social network profile on Facebook may remain long after you’re gone.
Facebook has announced that it will “memorialize” people’s profiles after they die, if their family and friends request the service.
Memorial profiles will differ from normal Facebook profiles.
Facebook will delete contact information from memorial profiles and block people from logging into the deceased person’s account. In addition, memorialized profiles will not appear in the “suggestions” part of the Facebook social network. Also, only the deceased person’s network of Facebook friends will be able to find them on a Facebook search.
Facebook has grown to become a go-to social network for more than 300 million people worldwide to stay in contact with family, friends, classmates and coworkers.
Source: Associated Press